46 Democratic Senators Voted Not to Uphold the Second Amendment in Support of U.N. Resulution 2117-Truth!

46 Democratic Senators Denied Second Amendment in Support of U.N. Resolution 2117-Truth! & Fiction!

Summary of eRumor:

This is a forwarded email that is titled “List of Traitors.”  It alleged that 46 Democratic members of the U.S. Senate voted not to uphold Second Amendment rights and allow the United States to enter into U.N. Resolution 2117, a United Nations Arms Trade Treaty.  The email said that no Republican Senators voted in this manner.

The Truth:

It is true that 46 Senators voted against Amendment 139 on the Senate Floor on March 23, 2013.  There were actually 44 Senators from the Democratic Party. Two from the list were Independents,  Senator Sanders of Vermont and Senator King of Maine.  We have them highlighted on the list below in red.

The statement of purpose on the Amendment said, “To uphold Second Amendment rights and prevent the United States from entering into the United Nations Arms Trade Treaty (U.N. Resolution 2117).”  This according to the official website of the U.S. Senate.

The Amendment passed by a narrow margin 53 to 46 with one member not voting.

The senators who casted votes against this measure were: NAYs —46 Baldwin (D-WI)
Baucus (D-MT)
Bennet (D-CO)
Blumenthal (D-CT)
Boxer (D-CA)
Brown (D-OH)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Cardin (D-MD)
Carper (D-DE)
Casey (D-PA)
Coons (D-DE)
Cowan (D-MA)
Durbin (D-IL)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Franken (D-MN)
Gillibrand (D-NY)
Harkin (D-IA)
Hirono (D-HI)
Johnson (D-SD)
Kaine (D-VA)
King (I-ME)
Klobuchar (D-MN)
Landrieu (D-LA)
Leahy (D-VT)
Levin (D-MI)
McCaskill (D-MO)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Merkley (D-OR)
Mikulski (D-MD)
Murphy (D-CT)
Murray (D-WA)
Nelson (D-FL)
Reed (D-RI)
Reid (D-NV)
Rockefeller (D-WV)
Sanders (I-VT)
Schatz (D-HI)
Schumer (D-NY)
Shaheen (D-NH)
Stabenow (D-MI)
Udall (D-CO)
Udall (D-NM)
Warner (D-VA)
Warren (D-MA)
Whitehouse (D-RI)
Wyden (D-OR)

As for the charge of treason, that is for each American to decide.  Below is the text of the oath of office that is administered to U.S. Senators:

I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter: So help me God.  

Posted 4/16/13    Updated 04/16/14

Related eRumors:

Obama Changes U.S. Stance on U.N. Small Arms Treaty