Speeding ticket frenzy by law enforcement?-Fiction!
Thirty-Day Speeding Ticket Frenzy By Police in Various Cities-Fiction!
Summary of eRumor:The eRumor warns motorists that that state or local law enforcement is going to be cracking down heavily on speeders during a 30-day period. It claims there will be a "speeding ticket frenzy" to add dollars to state coffers.
The Truth:There have been several versions of this eRumor.
State Police were said to be conducting a "speeding ticket frenzy" to pay the costs of hiring new troopers and to pay trooper benefits. Not true according to State Police Commissioner Jeffrey B. Miller.
Orange County, California
The eRumor claimed that there was going to be a ticket-writing frenzy beginning January 25, 2006. Part-time officers were said to be called in on full-time duty. TruthOrFiction.com has found no substantiation for this story and the California Highway Patrol has officially termed it a hoax. The CHP said that there are no plans to target motorists in Orange County for speeding and that several facts in the eRumor are wrong. First, the CHP says that funds generated from speeding tickets do not benefit either the CHP or the state of California and that all fines are levied by the local courts. Also, the CHP does not have "part time" officers. All sworn officers are full-time. Additionally, the CHP says it prohibits quotas in writing tickets. It should be added that nothing of this nature could have been done by the legislature without passing legislation for it, which would have brought howls of protest.
Last updated 1/24/06
A real example of the eRumor as it has appeared on the Internet:
Subject: FW: Speeding Tickets
For those of us who like to drive fast…..
California Highway Patrol will launch a 30-day speeding ticket frenzy in South Orange County starting January 25, 2006. The state estimates that 22 million dollars will be generated in speeding tickets. 3 million will go to pay California Highway Patrol officer overtime. There will be 90 California Highway Patrol officers on duty at all times patrolling the 7 freeways. They are the following: 73, 55, 133, 241, 57, 5, 605 freeways.
Now 7 mph above the limit can justify a ticket and every California Highway Patrol officers is supposed to pull a car over and write a ticket every 10 minutes.
They have issued 50 brand new unmarked Crown Victoria cruisers and they are bringing all their part timers on full time. If you live or work in South Orange County you must take one of their freeways. It’s up to you how fast you are doing when they do. This is a test by the CHP to raise the extra funds for the State of California . The wealthy folks of South Orange County can afford this new tax. The California State Legislators dreamed up this law to help close the budget gap or something like that. I was told KICU-FM confirmed all of this. So be safe and don’t forget speeding tickets are on you.
You’ve been warned.
Starting today, Pennsylvania will launch a 30 day speeding ticket frenzy. The state estimates that 9 million dollars will be generated in speeding tickets. 1 million will go to pay state troopers’ overtime. There will be 50 state troopers on duty at all times patrolling the 9 main intersections and highways. They are the following:
Rte. 1 north and south
I-99 north and south
I-95 north and south
I-279 north and south
I-276 east and west
I-376 east and west
I-76 east and west
I-80 east and west
I-79 north and south
I-70 east and west
US-22 & 322
5 mph above the limit can justify a ticket and every state trooper is supposed to pull a car over and write a ticket every 10 to 20 minutes. They have issued 30 brand new unmarked Dodge Charger Police cruisers and are bringing i n all of their part timers on full time. If you work in western Pennsylvania, you will probably take one of these highways. It’s up to you how fast you are going when they clock you.
KDKA and WDVE & CBS3 confirmed all of this. So be safe and don’t forget speeding tickets are on you.
Driving Ticket fine increase in PA:
Starting on August 15th, the price of a ticket for violation of PA Law 39:3-29 (failure to show your dri! ver’s l icense, registration, or insurance card at the time you are stopped) is going from $44.00 to $173.00.
Please make sure your vehicles have the proper documents in them. If you jump in the car to run to the store and forget your wallet with your license in it and you are stopped…. Oh well… you just spent $173. And the fine for not having all three documents is $519!!!